April Inspiration

Inspiration Copyright © SALT AIR Art & TextilesSince I am in the middle of a number of projects and have nothing finished to share, I thought I would write a little about some things that have me inspired.   Woolful Podcast (bottom left) – I recently discovered this podcast created by Ashley Yousling. She interviews people in the fiber industry about their work and their personal history with fiber. Through listening to the podcast I have learned about a lot of fiber artists, pattern designers, and yarn farmers that I might not have otherwise. To learn more about Woolful take a look here. Taproot Magazine (top left) – This magazine is another new discovery for me. I saw it at a local Co-op and the cover of Issue 13: Song caught my eye. The slogan for the magazine is “living fully and digging deeper” which is truly a wonderful concept for a publication. The current issue’s theme is Song and has some really beautiful essays on the topic that are a joy to read. Plus there are articles about raising chickens in your backyard (which I now want to do!), recycling yarn (another thing I might have to try my hand at), and fermenting herbs. This is one magazine that I will definitely be subscribing to! Learn more about Taproot Magazine here. Sparrow Yarn (top right) – Here in the North East spring is just beginning. And I am starting my warm weather knitting! I love the look of linen yarn, and Sparrow from Quince & Co. is one of my favorites! I completed a few projects using Sparrow last summer, and was excited to see the Sparrow 2015 patterns released! I will hopefully be posting some finished photos of the Forsythia Tank soon! Take a peak at Quince & Co.’s Sparrow here. Needlebook (bottom right) – Lastly, I am in love with my super adorable needle case from Sugarhouse Workshop. Jessica Lewis Stevens quilts and makes these needle cases with naturally dyed fabrics. And I just love each and every thing in her shop! My need case is the Needlebook No. 3. She also has the most beautiful Instagram feed @sugarhouseworkshop! Check out her website here   I hope that anyone reading this finds themselves inspired! These are all things that I have decided to share purely out of my own feelings of inspiration and excitement for them! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

