Naturally Dyed Eggs

Eggs Copyright © SALT AIR Art & Textiles Happy Easter everybody! Sean & kitties & I had a pretty quiet day consisting of brunch, knitting and napping. The excitement of the day was dyeing Easter eggs! I made up a few different dyes from things that we had around the kitchen. I used beets, tumeric powder, yellow onion skins, red onion skins, and red cabbage. Natural Dyes Copyright © SALT AIR Art & TextilesNatural Dyes Copyright © SALT AIR Art & Textiles To make the dyes, I used this post from The Kitchn as a guide. I didn’t really follow the directions exactly since I was using kitchen scraps and we were not dyeing very many eggs. For the beets I cut up a single beet into very small cubes and added it to 1 1/2 cups of water and boiled it for about 15 minutes. For the red and yellow onion skins I used the skin from one onion each in 1 1/2 cups water and boiled for about 20 minutes, it took them a little bit longer to get to the color I was looking for. The yellow dye was made with turmeric powder. I added about 2 tablespoons of powder into 2 cups of water and boiled it for 5 minutes. I didn’t need to boil it for very long because the powder has a very strong color. I do wish that I had let the powder settle and poured off the dye to use because the poser made the eggs that were at the bottom a little splotchy. And finally the red cabbage I just peeled one of the outer leaves off of a head of cabbage that we had and boiled it in 2 cups of water for 20 minutes. Once I had removed the dye stuff and transferred the dye to its’ jar, I added a tablespoon of white vinegar. While I waited for the dye to cool I prepared the eggs, I used lightly colored brown eggs. The dozen I had bought had a variety of shades so I chose the lightest, some even had some really nice speckles. Natural Dye Copyright © SALT AIR Art & Textiles Dyeing Copyright © SALT AIR Art & Textiles We put the eggs in the jars of dye using the adorable egg holders in the photo above. I had gotten them  few years ago in an egg dyeing kit and I think they are just so sweet! The kitties really liked them too, they were batting them all around the living room. The eggs sat in the dye for the afternoon and I took them out just before dinner. The longer you leave them in the more rich and vibrant the colors. Next year I might try leaving them to sit overnight. I think they turned out quite nice anyway. Eggs Copyright © SALT AIR Art & TextilesEggs Copyright © SALT AIR Art & Textiles Eggs Copyright © SALT AIR Art & Textiles Eggs Copyright © SALT AIR Art & Textiles Eggs Copyright © SALT AIR Art & TextilesEggs Copyright © SALT AIR Art & Textiles Eggs Copyright © SALT AIR Art & Textiles I’ve also seen some tutorials using pressed flowers and natural dyes that are really lovely, so perhaps next year there may be some more pretty egg photos appearing here. Thank you for reading! Warmly, Megan

2 thoughts on “Naturally Dyed Eggs

    1. Yes! I would love to try those too! I haven’t yet because I never plan ahead for egg dying very well. Hence only brown eggs this year haha. It still worked quite well though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

